I Just Can’t Do That Today

Sun hides behind fog

Leaves float in tepid water

Flavonoids: day’s peak…

As a rule I generally prefer hopeless optimism to being an unjustified cynic, but I’m not perfect.  Let’s just say my “Fake Lent Plan” is wearing on me.  A mini-update on that front, I’m  not doing terribly well across the board but certain things are still holding on. Coffee has become a mythical creature at the moment, like unicorns and dentists. And I’ve been doing rather well in avoiding it altogether.  Chocolate, also not so bad. there were a few moments of weakness but for the majority it’s been out of the picture. Where the major issue lies, is surprisingly in cheese. Damn cheese, it’s bloody well in almost everything! So I can’t really say that I’ve been abstaining from it completely.  I’m not sure if I’m feeling at all better yet, I mostly just have increased levels of guilt. But I guess that’s what them Catholics like to do. So that’s my mini update for now. Stay tuned for the official final update in a few weeks.

For now, a poem.

I Just Can’t Do That Today

I want to write happy and beautiful things about different people, my life, and about the world. I want to have a new exciting story for you all that will knock off your weekend socks.  A story that will change your life and make you feel the need to tell all your friends.  I want to shake the world, but I can’t do that today.

I want to blind you with excessive happiness, overpower you with hope and enthusiasm. I want to make you smile, and have you believe you can achieve everything you set your mind to. I want to fill you with all the knowledge you need to answer every question you will ever have, but I can’t do that today.

I want to tell you where to find the meaning of life. The place where all your dreams will come true and where you will find everything that you need to achieve perfect happiness in your life.  I want to introduce you to the person of your dreams, or a person who will change your life forever. . But I can’t do that.  Not today.

I want to feed you if you’re hungry, and bring you joy if you are sad. I want to sew the hole in your heart and I want to make you realize you’re not really mad.  I want to be there if you’re lonely, take you far away from your pain.  Help you with your spelling, and laugh with you over again. But I really can’t do that today.

And just because I want to be a good person doesn’t mean I really am… I just can’t do that today.

Miss Hailey Jane

One response to “I Just Can’t Do That Today

Leave a Reply

