PG Tips: A Tea Review

My local grocer recently began stocking PG Tips tea. When I discovered this small fact I was far more excited than I should have been. it may or may not have made that particular day. The recent ‘London’ phenomenon around here since the whole Olympics thing has been kind of silly in my regard, and I think that may be one of the reasons for this new addition to their shelves. Nevertheless, I jumped at the chance to try it.

I hadn’t tried it while I was actually in England, oddly enough. I might have without knowing, come to think of it, but I’m not going to count that. While I was there I was far too busy trying other exciting things like Yorkshire Gold, RAF (Royal Air Force) Tea and more coffee than I’m normally used to.

So here I am, trying good old PG Tips for the first time!

A bit of history, PG Tips was first sold in the 1930’s out of Manchester UK, as Pre-Gest Tea, hinting that it aided digestion if consumed before a meal. Turns out that labeling restrictions after the war ruled that they were no longer able to say that, and the name was shortened to PG Tips, tips referring to the use of the tips of the tea leaves.

I also heard somewhere that I can’t quite recall (maybe it was an add on TV while I was over there, or I could have been dreaming it) that this was the kind of tea the Queen drinks. It’s rather economical in the tea department, so I don’t see why she would, but either way I had to try some.

What I have here is a box of 72, two cup bags. They’re not the famous pyramid bags, they’re square, but I’ll take what I can. The box is also telling me that the refreshment is to be savoured, so I’ll try my best to savour it properly. It also says that

“Like a deep breath of fresh air, a cup of PG Tips refreshes the body and lightens the spirit. No wonder tea is second only to water as the world’s most popular beverage.”

There’s also the same blurb is french, so I can imagine it was packaged in Canada. Aaaand according to the box it was. Aren’t I a clever girl.

So here goes. I’ve made myself a cup of this ‘refreshing beverage’ and we’re all about to learn what it’s like. The instructions said to warm my favourite mug with hot water first. I was going to use my second favourite mug, but I guess I better wash out the other one just to make sure I follow the instructions so the tea tastes right. It is also quite clear about pouring that hot water out first before pouring more in. What do they think I am? American?

I let the tea bag steep for less than the suggested four minutes because I didn’t want a spoon to be able to stand up in it. And as you can see it is pretty black already. Step 5 in the instructions also demand you ‘Enjoy’ and ‘be refreshed’, so I guess it’s part of the rules.

I tried it black like I enjoy most tea, but I feel it would/could be complimented by milk. It has a bit more ‘tang’ than my regular orange pekoe which is Tetley, which also happens to be PG Tips leading competitor in the UK. It also is a bit more ‘crisp’, as crisp as a liquid could be describe as anyway. I guess their advertising and demanding instructions have it right. It is indeed refreshing. Compared to other standard orange pekoe teas, I would rank it relatively high. Way above Red Rose that’s for sure (Who drinks that stuff? and why do restaurants insist on only having it to chose from…bleh), Lipton and Salada. Yorkshire gold still might win though.

PG Tips is a very nice morning tea, and this type appears to steep rather quickly, allowing for a very dark tea if desired.

So in all, I would highly recommend PG Tips if you’re after something different and are not a fan of fancy herbal concoctions like myself.  Also, 72 bags was less than 4 dollars. So you can’t lose. Also, if any of my English friends are reading this, and find me horribly incorrect…. I’m deeply sorry. I blame cultural contexts.

Excellent job England, making us all think you’re the tea capital of the world. I’m sure India and China are very pleased about that. 😛

Thanks for reading everyone, it’s always sincerely appreciated. If you want to receive regular-ish emails of posts you can enter your address and follow me easily using the widget to the right. It’s up there somewhere.

xx

Miss Hailey Jane

14 responses to “PG Tips: A Tea Review

  • Robyn

    You make my laugh, hailey. My favourite tea is Yorkshire tea. Question what is the difference between the ordinary one and the Yorkshire gold?

    • haileyjw

      Yorkshire Gold is the luxury blend, with a richer malty flavour. It’s an Assam season tea mixed with other peak African blends. Very delicious, plus it makes me feel distinguished. 😛

  • rebeccaoftomorrow

    We’re very tea-centric around here, as well. (Although I also love coffee.) I always take my black teas with milk. I haven’t tried PG Tips yet. Must get some!

    • haileyjw

      There’s nothing in the world quite like a good cup of tea at the right time. I am learning to drink a few of the stronger tea with milk now. So we’ll see where that takes me. Thanks for the comment and I’m glad you are still enjoying it. 🙂

  • princesscarleyunderground

    I might just try that myself…

  • Brett

    Haha, this post was class. I love how your tea passion comes through with wit and clarity. A fun, but informative read.

    When it comes to black tea, I’m more partial to Yorkshire Gold: very bracing morning tea. But I prefer Chinese and Japanese teas the most–tea is part of the reason I decided to study Mandarine.

    Keep up the posts!

    Cheers,
    Brett

    • haileyjw

      Ha, thanks! Yorkshire Gold is great too, I always smuggle too much of it home with me when I visit the UK. I haven’t got onto any Japanese or Chinese teas yet. Is there one you’d recommend to start with? (Hopefully something relatively easy to obtain in Canada). I’d love to try some.

      • Brett

        Haha, I’d certainly smuggle as much as I could. As far as Chinese or Japanese teas go, it depends on the type: black, green, or oolong.

        For green, Japanese sencha is a good, basic one. Chinese gunpowder and jasmine teas tend to be good (and should be easier to find than others), as long as you steep them right. The most famous is Longjing, or “Dragon Well.”

        For black, most Chinese black teas come from Yunnan. They’re all pretty good. Not as rich or malty as the Assam variety. Yunnan gold and noir are my favorites of that.

        For oolong, Chinese and Taiwanese are all good, but they tend to be more expensive or hard to find.

        Hope that gives some idea. I always love talking a fellow tea enthusiast!

  • MikeZ

    Stopped by for simple review of PG Tips. Thoroughly enjoyed your writing. Well done.

    For Japanese tea, get your hands on Matcha powdered green tea.

  • Fi

    Hello

    Have you tried Clipper tea?

    • haileyjw

      Hey! I have not in fact tried this particular type of hot deliciousness. What are your feeling on it and where can I get some? lol

      • Fi

        You can buy it in most decent supermarkets and lots of independent type shops. My favourite is the one that comes in the pink box with the gold crown on it and I am also partial to their Snore and Peace tea. Not the kind of thing I would usually go for but its very nice!

Leave a Reply

