The Coffee Break

Life, one of the worst things to try and talk about because everyone has their own opinion on the matter. Their own thoughts, their own feelings and their own experiences, which more often than not will be different than yours. Supposedly this is what makes it interesting.

My apologies, as I have been off the map a bit as of late due to a new endeavour that seems to be swallowing up all my time like a pelican at a fish farm. Ideally this is a good thing, because in the long run it ought to provide the means to obtain new and exciting material for all of you wonderful readers whom I love truly and deeply. But no one likes the short run.

One thing I want to express though, is that I desperately miss the time for inner reflection that I used to have in droves. I miss my coffee breaks. Sitting in a cafe with a hot drink, a pen and paper, and time.  Time to dig deep through my current thoughts into my memories and then deeper into my nature, finally to mix them all together to create something beautiful, entertaining and unique.

Each day I see this world as a shallower place than the prior, and know I could lift at least a few of these lost souls from their comfortable mundane corporate consumerist world, if only I took the time to share what I thought. I can feel the buds of their future regret forming, for not living life with a purpose past the next purchase and pay check. Individual history is dying before my eyes. What am I going to do about it?

What can you do about it?

I choose to write, what do you choose?

-Miss Hailey Jane

5 responses to “The Coffee Break

  • Brett

    Everything about this post resonates with me. I, too, have been so busy this semester, so when days come (like today) when I have a chance to breathe, it’s nice.

    As far as the coffee breaks, go, I know what you mean. I always try to take a little time to walk in the woods and linger in a café. I find it grounds me and keeps me from getting caught up of the hamster wheel. Lets me see what’s “really” going on.

    Lastly, I really loved the line you had, “Each day I see this world as a shallower place than the prior, and know I could lift at least a few of these lost souls from their comfortable mundane corporate consumerist world, if only I took the time to share what I thought.”

    I feel like it’s an odd, perhaps misunderstood, but beautiful vocation. I find I do it accidentally, and doing so lets me bear the taste of that shallowness with fellowship. So good luck.

    Cheers,
    Brett

    P.s. Sorry about the long comment.

  • Robyn

    I choose to teach.

Leave a Reply

