A Painting and Words: My own Van Gogh and upcoming reads.

 

Hello friends!

Happy Tuesday…..Wednesday…it’s Wednesday…I’m special.  I’ve had some extra free time this week because my job doesn’t take me seriously whatsoever, so I felt the need to pretend I was useful. In all honesty I may have just ended up sitting at my desk thinking about doing something; basking in the glory of untapped potential, but the apartment maintenance man came in to fix the door, and I am alarmingly motivated when being watched.  I felt an extreme and deep need to show this random stranger that I was actually a productive member of human society.

You rarely would see me move so swiftly or gracefully. I glided over to where I kept my art supplies and before I had even really decided that I was going to paint something, I had the paint and canvas out, pencils and blotting paper collected, bowl of water ready to be dipped into and away I went.

The subject of this potential artwork came to me even more easily which is annoying because otherwise I would have sat and mulled over it until I eventually convinced myself not to do anything at all. For some reason earlier this week I decided I wanted a Van Gogh Sunflowers phone case for my new walking-talking device, and I had been trying to find one online (Which I did, but I didn’t feel like shelling out 20 bux plus shipping for it just now) But, the idea of having my very own Van Gogh seemed even more appealing! Unfortunately I didn’t have any trips to the National Gallery in London planned, and my thievery and espionage skills leave something to be desired. The easiest way really, was to paint one myself.

IMG_5133Ta Da!

IMG_5150Makes me happy, it does.

I also partook in some used book thrifting last Saturday, and found something I swear I’ve had in my Amazon basket for a year and a half now!  Bonus: It was only $3.95! Hells yeah! Here’s the stack:

IMG_5153All purchased at the Goodwill Bookstore, Lauzon Rd. Windsor ON.

In The Garden with Van Gogh – Merberg/Bober – A children’s board book, in the event I have a baby I want this to be their first book. There’s not chance I’m ever gifting this one ( .95 cents)

Animal Farm – George Orwell – A classic that for some horrifying reason I’ve not read yet. ($1.95)

London – Edward Rutherfurd – An epic about the ENTIRE history of the city….literally from when the earth formed the little island. It’s gonna be good! Might take me my whole life to read, but darn it I’m gonna do it! ($3.95)

The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul – Deborah Rodriguez – I’m not 100% sold on this one, I’m not exactly a fan of reading about war-torn countries, but I like the culture surrounding a coffee shop, so I think it might be inspiring. ($3.95)

Haunted – Chuck Palahniuk – This is the one I’ve been toying with paying full price for. I read a few of the stories while I was in High School and I know it’s strange and downright fucked up sometimes, but I really really love it. It’s life changing stuff right there. At least when you’re a confused 16 year old. We’ll see if it works the same nearly a decade later. ($3.95)

The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari – Robin S. Sharma – At first glance Chris saw this and proclaimed “Well that looks like it’s stupid!”, and I knew that was going to happen, as he is a narrow minded consumerist particularly obsessed with automobiles, but I think I will love it. It’s already a very successful book, so I imagine there’s got to be something good in there.  My only worry is, I’m not a fan of how ‘self-help-ie’ it has been laid out like. I would prefer more of a narrative, where you take what you want from the story, as opposed to having life lessons shoved down your throat. I’ll let you know when I finish. ($3.95)

Under the Tuscan Sun – Francis Mayes – I’ve also almost bought this book at least 4 times and I finally and broke down and handed over my 4 dollars.  Now it’s mine. I’ve seen the film at least 15 times, and I love everything about it. Sticking to the idea that the book is always better, I’m looking forward to enjoying this even more. Gotta love a good old fashioned mid-life-crisis induced life change! ($3.95)

Thanks for spending some time with me and my library!

Lots of love! xx

Hailey Jane

 

Leave a Reply

